Sweet SWEET Victory (Day 20)

Day 20 – Steamboat to Breckenridge

Sweet, Sweet Victory

Today was an amazing amazing day. I got to complete my first century, 100 mile, ride. It was a tough ride, but very very rewarding. First we climbed Rabbit Ears Pass which was quite the climb and then we continued on for the following 80 something miles through rolling hills and beautiful sights. I was pushed all day by Beau Samples and Mike Jones. We had an average pace of 18.6 mph which I am pretty sure is my personal record. We finished third which is really good for me! So all in all, today was an amazing day! It felt so good to finish, and to finish fast. You got to push yourself every day. Yes it will hurt, and yes it will stink, but it will only make you better. One of my teammates once talked about making yourself a little bit uncomfortable on the bike, pushing yourself just a little harder than you thought you could go. That is exactly what I did today. I promise if you push yourself it won’t end up bad. If you succeed you realize you are capable of so much more than you could even imagine. And if you fail, which you won’t, you still improve and will be that much closer to succeeded the next time you try, and you learn from your mistakes. We only get better the more we push ourselves. At first, cycling was the tough part of the trip for me, but it gets easier and easier every day.

We spent the evening hanging out after getting dinner with Bruce Rogers, his family, and the KRG staff. We played a game called “Last Person to Sneeze Loses” which was pretty darn hilarious. It’s nights like this with my teammates that I will never forget. I am so thankful to be on this journey and I would not want to be anywhere else. I know I sound like a broken record with saying this by now, but I can’t quite explain this any other way, every night this journey leaves me speechless. 

Leave a comment